MONTREAL, QC – Thursday, June 13, 2013.

The 2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List was announced today at the Phi Centre in Old Montreal. The event was hosted by SiriusXM’s Andréanne Sasseville. 2006 Polaris Music Prize winner Owen Pallett (Final Fantasy), 2009 Short Listers Radio Radio, Laurel Spengelmeyer of 2011 Long Listers Little Scream and Ruby Attwood from Yamantaka // Sonic Titan were also on hand to reveal the list of forty albums. The celebration also included a live performance by Les soeurs Boulay, one of this year’s first-time nominees.

“This year’s Long List is all over the map, but in the best possible way,” said Steve Jordan, Founder and Executive Director. “A lot of our jury expressed that this was the most difficult Polaris ballot they’ve ever submitted. The results of this careful and passionate deliberation will make for some truly engaging listening for music lovers.”

2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d’Amérique du Noir
ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak
The Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO
Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage
Mac DeMarco – 2
Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk
Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II
Jim Guthrie – Takes Time
Hayden – Us Alone
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
KEN mode – Entrench
Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues
Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox
Pierre Lapointe – Punkt
Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner
Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis
Corb Lund – Cabin Fever
The Luyas – Animator
Majical Cloudz – Impersonator
Metric – Synthetica
Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me
AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets
Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night
Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops
Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse
Purity Ring – Shrines
Rah Rah – The Poet’s Dead
Rhye – Woman
Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Suuns – Images du futur
Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine

At the conclusion of the announcement, the Phi Centre is hosting a very special lunch-time Polaris Salon. Moderated by Steve Jordan, the panel includes Sasseville, TFO’s Melissa Hetu and La Presse’s Alain Brunet. The discussion will centre on the just announced Long List, with the panelists opinions of hits and misses on this year’s List as well as predictions of which titles will move on to the Short List.

There is also a salon in Toronto on Wednesday, June 19th at the Soho House moderated by Exclaim’s James Keast. Panelists include Stephen Carlick of Exclaim, Nicole Villeneuve of Aux, freelancer Melody Lau and Bryan Acker of Herohill. To attend send an RSVP to

The Short List will be announced on July 16th at The Drake Hotel in Toronto. The Polaris gala will be held on September 23rd at The Carlu in Toronto. The eligibility period for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013. An independent jury of over 200 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada determine the Long List and Short List. Eleven people are selected from the larger jury pool to serve on the Grand Jury. The grand jury convenes the night of the gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.

The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year. Judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales, the prize’s past winners have included Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007), and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) (2006).

About the Polaris Music Prize
The Polaris Music Prize is a not-for-profit organization that annually honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music by recognizing, then marketing the albums of the highest artistic integrity, without regard to musical genre, professional affiliation, or sales history, as judged by a panel of selected music critics. @polarisprize

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *